Tuesday, 20 July 2010

MUSIC NEWS: Barclaycard Mercury Prize Albums of the Year revealed

The 12 Albums of the Year shortlisted for the 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize, were announced today.

The shortlisted 2010 Albums of the Year are:

Biffy Clyro - Only Revolutions
Corinne Bailey - Rae The Sea
Dizzee Rascal - Tongue N' Cheek
Foals Total - Life Forever
I Am Kloot - Sky At Night
Kit Downes - Trio Golden
Laura Marling - I Speak Because I Can
Mumford & Sons - Sigh No More
Paul Weller - Wake Up the Nation
The xx xx
Villagers - Becoming a Jackal
Wild Beasts - Two Dancers

The Barclaycard Mercury Prize celebrates the year in music. The shortlist, chosen from an entry of over 200 albums by UK and Irish artists, was announced by Lauren Laverne. The event was hosted by The Hospital Club in Covent Garden, the club for the creative industries.

The overall winner of the 2010 Prize will be decided and announced at the Barclaycard Mercury Prize Awards Show, which will be broadcast live on BBC Two on Tuesday 7 September 2010. Lauren Laverne will present the programme, with the Awards Show event itself hosted by Jools Holland.


  1. In terms of amount listened to, has to Biffy Clyro for me. So glad that band is finally getting the recognition from all directions.

  2. True - would like to see Laura Marling or maybe Wild Beasts - anyone but Dizzee Rascal!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...